Long Pants to Shorts

I wish pattern companies would make separate pieces for turning pants into shorts.  Maybe I want to make shorts the first time and long pants the next.  If I make the shorts first then I have to figure out the length for the pants and vice versa.  Who wants to go through all that, I don’t.  I definitely don’t want to buy the same pattern again.

I’m using McCalls M6933.

McCall's M6933

So, I figured an easier way would be to fold the pattern piece to the length indicated on the pattern and pin it.

Fold Pattern

 

 

Posted on July 30, 2014, in Tips and a Little Tricks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. That’s exactly how I plan to use my patterns for everything…I really don’t want to cut them.

    Like

  2. EmilyAnn Frances

    Have you tried tracing the pattern to patternmaking paper? You can then use that for all the pinning and cutting. The original pattern will last longer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

PatternPiper.Com

Homemade Happiness

Weekend designer

... it ain't rocket science.

Pincushion Treats

Creating treats, one stitch at a time

So Sew Something!

I'll Teach You How!

infectiousstitches

Sewing, quilting and pattern making

So Sew Easy

Free sewing patterns, sewing clothes and accessories. Dress patterns, skirt patterns, sewing tutorials and a great sewing blog.

Jean Chung Designs

Designer of Candy+Bagel // Tweet @CandyBagel // Insta @CandyandBagel

Sew Busy Lizzy

she sews by the seashore...

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

Stitches

A novice adventure in sewing

Retro Glam

Adding a touch of elegance from the past.

The Selfish Seamstress

Because I only want to sew stuff if it's for me.

Oh no, Coco!

Define fashion.

The Sewing Affair

Sewing adventures, projects & fun!

SwayMebyDavina

Sewing one stitch at a time

